Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata



Project

Status

ACTIVE

CII Badge

Description

Distributed ledger purpose-built for decentralized identity


Hyperledger Indy provides tools, libraries, and reusable components for providing digital identities rooted on blockchains or other distributed ledgers so that they are interoperable across administrative domains, applications, and any other silo. 

Indy is in active development across the following areas: 

Distributed Ledger

Client Tools

Note: We are in the process of moving our Client Tools work to Hyperledger Aries. We recommend engaging with both communities for the time being if you interested in building applications on top of an Indy network.

Shared Components

Key Characteristics

  • Distributed ledger purpose-built for decentralized identity

  • Correlation-resistant by design

  • DIDs (Decentralized Identifiers) that are globally unique and resolvable (via a ledger) without requiring any centralized resolution authority

  • Pairwise Identifiers create secure, 1:1 relationships between any two entities

  • Verifiable Credentials in an interoperable format for exchange of digital identity attributes and relationships, currently in the standardization pipeline at the W3C 

  • Zero Knowledge Proofs which prove that some or all of the data in a set of Claims is true without revealing any additional information, including the identity of the Prover

Documentation

  • An index of Indy documentation can be found here.

  • The documentation of the nitty gritty of the underpinnings of the code is located in the “docs” folder of each repo.

  • Note: Indy Documentation is in the process of migrating to: indy.readthedocs.io

Project Management

Repositories

Communication

Mailing List

Sign up for the  Hyperledger Indy Mailing List here

Chat (for questions and ephemeral discussions)

General Discussion

  • #indy: questions and discussion about stable releases.

  • #indy-outreach : documentation improvements and efforts to invite and onboard contributors to the community.

Discussion about new development

Meetings

Identity WG Implementors Call

This is the call to discuss how to leverage Indy within your identity solution. More information is on the page Identity WG Implementors Call

Indy Contributors Call

People who want to contribute to Indy should join this call. This does not replace our asynchronous collaboration, but should help us keep everyone up-to-date and moving together.

Calls happen every other week, and rotate between two timezones

  • Europe afternoon / US morning: Monday at 8AM Los Angeles, 11AM New York, 4PM London, 18H Moscow

  • US afternoon / Asia-Pacific morning: Monday at 3PM Los Angeles, 6PM New York, Tuesday at 6H Beijing, 8AM Sydney.

Location: https://zoom.us/j/615818107

Discussion items: upcoming releases, current PRs, work that will generate future PRs, architecture changes that will impact downstream teams, project standards, best practices, design, etc.

Agendas: Indy Contributors Meeting

You can work with us between calls on the #indy-contributors channel on Rocket Chat.

Calendars

History

Space contributors

{"mode":"list","scope":"descendants","limit":"5","showLastTime":"true","order":"update","contextEntityId":2392563}